

## The Myocarditis Foundation Research Fellowship Grant Recipients

1. Year Awarded: 2006

**Recipient**: Daniela Cihakova, MD, PhD **Preceptor**: Noel Rose, MD, PhD **Location**: Johns Hopkins University

**Title of Research**: "The Role of Monocytes in Autoimmune Myocarditis"

2. Year Awarded: 2007

**Recipient**: Bettina Heidecker, MD **Preceptor**: Jashua Hare, MD

Location: University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine

Title of Research: "Gene Expression Profiling for Detection of Myocarditis"

3. Year Awarded: 2008

**Recipient**: Susan Wollersheim, MD **Preceptor**: Paul Krogstad, MD, MS

Location: UCLA, David Geffen School of Medicine

**Title of Research**: "Cellular and Viral Determinants of Neonatal Coxsackievirus

Myocarditis"

4. Year Awarded: 2009

**Recipient**: Silvio Antoniak, PhD, MSc **Preceptor**: Nigel Mackman, PhD

**Location**: UNC Chapel Hill, McAllister Heart Institute, School of Medicine **Title of Research**: "Thrombin-PAR-1 Signaling in Viral Myocarditis"

5. Year Awarded: 2009

**Recipient**: Byung Kwan Lim, PhD **Preceptor**: Kirk Knowlton, MD

**Location**: UC San Diego, School of Medicine

**Title of Research**: "Cleavage Resistant Dystrophin Protects Enterovirus Infection

Induced Dilated Cardiomyopathy in the Mouse Model"

6. Year Awarded: 2009

**Recipient**: David Marchant, PhD **Preceptor**: Bruce McManus, MD, PhD

**Location**: University of British Columbia, James Hogg Research Centre

Title of Research: "Discovering and Understanding Virus-Host Factor Interactions for

the Treatment of Viral Myocarditis"

**Recipient**: Alan Valaperti, PhD **Preceptor**: Peter Liu, MD

**Location**: University of Toronto, University Health Network, Division of Cardiology **Title of Research**: "IL-1 Receptor-Associated Kinase 4 (IRAK4) Epi-genetically

Modulates Nod2- and MDA5-depended Protection in Viral

Myocarditis"

8. Year Awarded: 2010

**Recipient**: Kathleen Simpson, MD **Preceptor**: Charles Canter, MD

**Location**: University of Washington in St. Louis, School of Medicine

Title of Research: "Autoimmunity in Pediatric Myocarditis: A Pilot Study"

9. Year Awarded: 2011

Recipient: Kevin Quinn, MD Preceptor: Paul Krogstad, MD, MS

**Location**: UCLA, David Geffen School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics

Title of Research: "Identifying Antiviral Agents to Treat Coxsackievirus Myocarditis"

**10. Year Awarded**: 2011

**Recipient**: Laure Case, PhD **Preceptor**: Sally Huber, PhD

**Location**: University of Vermont, College of Medicine

Title of Research: "Chromosome Y Regulates Susceptibility of Coxsackievirus

B3induced Myocarditis"

**11. Year Awarded**: 2012

Recipient: Chandirasegaran Massilamany, M.V.Sc

**Preceptor**: Jay Reddy, M.V.SC, PhD

Location: University of Nebraska-Lincoln, School of Veterinary Medicine and

**Biomedical Sciences** 

Title of Research: "Delineating the Role of Cardiac Myosin-Specific CD8 T Cells in

Autoimmune Myocarditis"

**12. Year Awarded**: 2012

(American Heart Association and the Myocarditis Foundation

Predoctoral Collaborative Fellowship Grant)

**Recipient**: Brian Avanzino, BS **Preceptor**: Christopher Fraser, PhD

**Location**: University of California-Davis, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Title of Research: "Regulation of Cardiovirulent Picornaviral Protein Synthesis"

Recipient: Yuji Nagatomo, MD, PhD
Precentor: Wilson Tang, MD

**Preceptor**: Wilson Tang, MD

**Location:** Cleveland Clinic, The Lerner Research Institute

Title of Research: "Autoimmunity in Suspected Myocarditis and Recent-Onset

Cardiomyopathy: The significance of IgG3 autoantibody against B1

adrenergic receptors"

**14. Year Awarded:** 2014

Recipient: Michael Bode, M.D. Preceptor: Nigel Mackman, PhD Location: UNC Chapel Hill,

**Title of Research:** "Role of PAR-1 in a Mouse Model of Viral Myocarditis"

**15. Year Awarded:** 2015

**Recipient:** Dr. Jon Sin, PhD **Preceptor:** Ralph Feuer, PhD

Location: Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Title of Research: "Coxsackievirus B Subverts Host Mitophagy to Promote Viral

Dissemination and Myocarditis"

**16. Year Awarded:** 2016

Recipient: Dr. Guobao Chen, PhD

Preceptor: Dr. Daniela Cihakova, MD PhD

Location: John Hopkins University School of Medicine

Title of Research: "The Role of PDGFRa+ Cardiac Fibroblast in Myocarditis"

Named for: Quinn Kirsch

**17. Year Awarded:** 2017

Recipient: Dr. Paul Hanson, PhD

Preceptor: Dr. Bruce McManus, MD, PhD

**Location:** University of British Columbia/St. Paul's Hospital

**Title of Research:** "Personalizing Myocarditis Diagnostics Through Novel

Biomarkers"

Named for: Sarah Knight

**18. Year Awarded:** 2018

Recipient: Dr. Lindsey Bazzone, MD, PhD

**Preceptor:** Dr. Robert Finberg, MD

**Location:** University of Massachusetts Medical School

**Title of Research:** "The Role of ADAM9 in the Immunopathogenesis of Viral

Myocarditis"

**Recipient:** Dr. Taejoon Won, PhD

Preceptor: Dr. Daniela Cihakova, MD, PhD

**Location:** John Hopkins University School of Medicine

**Title of Research:** "Therapy for Myocarditis by Targeting Endothelial PD-L1"

Named for: Rhett Lundy

**20. Year Awarded:** 2019

**Recipient:** Dr. Danette Flint, MD **Preceptor:** Dr. Javid Moslehi, MD Dr. Lauren Gilstrap, MD

Location: Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center

**Title of Research:** "Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Associated Myocarditis"

Named for: Lee Andrew Hirsch

**21. Year Awarded:** 2020

**Recipient:** Dr. William Bobo, MD

Location: Specialized Grant with Mayo Clinic, Florida

Title of Research: "Anxiety and Depression in People with Myocarditis and Their

Identified Support Givers (Caregivers): A Comprehensive Surveybased Study of it's Impact on Quality of Life and Health

Outcomes."

**22. Year Awarded:** 2021

**Recipient:** Dr. Andrew Koenig, PhD **Preceptor**: Dr. Kory Lavine, MD, PhD

**Location:** Washington University in Saint Louis

**Title of Research:** "Defining the Spatial Proteomic and Transcriptomic

Landscape of Myocarditis."

Named for: Sarah Knight

**23. Year Awarded:** 2021

**Recipient:** Dr. Tahir Kafil, MD **Preceptor:** Dr. Peter Liu, MD

Location: Ottawa Heart Institute, in Canada

**Title of Research:** "COVID-19 Vaccine-induced Inflammatory Heart Disease

Registry and Prospective Cohort Study. (COVID-VIHPR)"

Named for: Ashley Burgauer

**24. Year Awarded:** 2022

**Recipient:** Dr. Kory Lavine

**Location:** Washington University in St. Louis

**Title of Research:** BioBank/Registry Research Support

**Recipient:** Dr. Jennifer Myers, PhD **Preceptor:** Dr. Madeleine Cunningham **Location:** University of Oklahoma

Title of Research: "Autoimmune Mechanisms in Human Myocarditis"

Named for: John Phillip Mello

**26. Year Awarded:** 2023

Recipient: Dr. Simon Vanhenten Rijk

**Preceptor:** Dr. Wilson Tang **Location:** Cleveland Clinic

Title of Research: "Leveraging cutting-edge Phlp-SEQ Antibody Profiling to

Differentiate Auto Antibody Patterns in Myocarditis"

Named for: Sarah Knight

**27. Year Awarded:** 2023

**Recipient:** Dr. Swati Sharma **Preceptor:** Dr. Silvio Antoniak

**Location:** University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Title of Research: "The Protective Role of Platelet Protease-Activated Receptor 4

(Para4) in Coxsackievirus (CVB3) Myocarditis"

Named for: